Entering/communicating to the penalty box

Skating / Game & Rules / Learning to skate
Forum rules
BRD Public Forum
Skating / Game & Rules / Learning to skate
User avatar
the Blizzard
Forum Ninja
Forum Ninja
Posts: 4331
Joined: 27 Jul 2010, 12:36
Skater Number: 54
Team: Women's A, Smash Vandals

Entering/communicating to the penalty box

Postby the Blizzard » 02 Apr 2012, 13:54

Here is the WFTDA clarification: http://wftda.com/rules/qa/penalty-box-r ... strictions

Copied below.

WFTDA wrote:Q:Is it legal to enter the penalty box to hand a penalized skater water?
A:It is only a penalty to enter the designated penalty box area to communicate with a penalized skater. Communicating is the passing of information. You may communicate with a skater in the penalty box from outside the designated penalty box area.

Applicable Rules
6.13.14 A penalized skater's teammates, manager, and/or coach who enters the designated penalty box area to communicate with a penalized skater. If the person entering is not a skater in the bout the penalty will go to the Captain.

7.3.4 Penalized skaters may not leave the designated penalty box area during either a team or official timeout (see Section 6.13.13).

7.3.4.1 A penalized skater's teammates, managers, and coaches may not at any time physically enter the designated penalty box area to communicate with the penalized skater (see Section 6.13.14).


So it's fine to go in to give things to the skater. It's also OK to talk to them from outside the box.

User avatar
Chick Dastardly
Forum Ninja
Forum Ninja
Posts: 5564
Joined: 04 Aug 2010, 13:06
Skater Number: 301 (was g33k)
Team: Daughters of Anarchy

Re: Entering/communicating to the penalty box

Postby Chick Dastardly » 02 Apr 2012, 14:21

I always interpreted it as no communication whatsoever! And have been thinking that trying to signal plans etc, it had to be done really sneakily!

Good to know. Thanks Blizz

EDIT - do people want the box marked out in tape on the floor? so no one walks through it when going to talk to someone?

User avatar
E-Z Roller
Jedi Master
Jedi Master
Posts: 1233
Joined: 12 Nov 2010, 16:03
Skater Number: 24k
Team: Daughters of Anarchy and A-team

Entering/communicating to the penalty box

Postby E-Z Roller » 02 Apr 2012, 14:39

So the person in the box can shout to people in the track too yeah? We were discussing this while penalty timing?

User avatar
the Blizzard
Forum Ninja
Forum Ninja
Posts: 4331
Joined: 27 Jul 2010, 12:36
Skater Number: 54
Team: Women's A, Smash Vandals

Re: Entering/communicating to the penalty box

Postby the Blizzard » 02 Apr 2012, 14:59

There's nothing that says that the penalised skater can't communicate... shout or wave or what ever.

Yes, the box should be marked. :)

User avatar
da silva surfer
Forum Ninja
Forum Ninja
Posts: 6763
Joined: 19 Oct 2010, 20:34
Skater Number: 48
Team: Cheering Squad

Re: Entering/communicating to the penalty box

Postby da silva surfer » 02 Apr 2012, 15:12

I got a hug from Del while I was in the penalty box at the home team game, she didn't say a word :)

User avatar
Adele Linquent
Yoda
Yoda
Posts: 3176
Joined: 03 Aug 2010, 10:14
Skater Number: 0o
Team: Daughters Of Anarchy and Harlots

Re: Entering/communicating to the penalty box

Postby Adele Linquent » 02 Apr 2012, 15:56

:oops: sorry... I thought I couldn't speak, I didn't know I couldn't hug, especially during that very long time out... :oops:

User avatar
da silva surfer
Forum Ninja
Forum Ninja
Posts: 6763
Joined: 19 Oct 2010, 20:34
Skater Number: 48
Team: Cheering Squad

Re: Entering/communicating to the penalty box

Postby da silva surfer » 02 Apr 2012, 16:29

You did nothing wrong Del you went to the box to give me something, it was a hug rather than a bottle of water :mrgreen:

User avatar
Adele Linquent
Yoda
Yoda
Posts: 3176
Joined: 03 Aug 2010, 10:14
Skater Number: 0o
Team: Daughters Of Anarchy and Harlots

Re: Entering/communicating to the penalty box

Postby Adele Linquent » 02 Apr 2012, 16:43

Oh, I skim-read wrongly. :smile:
Yeay to hugs! :grin:

Mortabella Bam
Jedi Knight
Jedi Knight
Posts: 942
Joined: 04 Aug 2010, 14:09
Skater Number: 667
Team: Daughters of Anarchy

Re: Entering/communicating to the penalty box

Postby Mortabella Bam » 02 Apr 2012, 17:04

I got told off at the home team bout for trying to shout out from the box. I was trying to let my team on the track know that they had too many players on as the refs hadn't noticed. So was I actually allowed to do this then?

Mr Incredibrawl
Jedi Knight
Jedi Knight
Posts: 907
Joined: 01 Nov 2010, 19:09
Skater Number: 183
Team: Team Zebra and Vice Quad

Re: Entering/communicating to the penalty box

Postby Mr Incredibrawl » 03 Apr 2012, 13:31

Mortabella Bam wrote:I got told off at the home team bout for trying to shout out from the box. I was trying to let my team on the track know that they had too many players on as the refs hadn't noticed. So was I actually allowed to do this then?


Yep, nothing saying you can't have a good old shout from the box. If you tried to get up and toddle over to the track though, then words will be had!


Return to “Roll Up!”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron